Skip to main content

Office of the President

The Office of the President includes essential departments of Piedmont College. The areas of Athletics, Campus Ministry, and the Lillian E. Smith Center are departments within the Office of the President.

Dr. James F. Mellichamp 
President 
president@piedmont.edu
706-776-0100 
 
Beth Steed 
Executive Assistant to the President 
bsteed@piedmont.edu
706-776-0100 
 
Jane Kidd 
Special Assistant to the President 
jkidd@piedmont.edu
706-369-6833 
 
Jim Peeples 
Director of Intercollegiate Athletics 
jpeeples@piedmont.edu
706-778-8500, ext. 1266
 
Rev. Tim Garvin-Leighton 
Campus Minister 
tleighton@piedmont.edu
706-778-8500, ext. 1179 
 
Craig Amason 
College Archivist and Director of Lillian E. Smith Center 
camason@piedmont.edu 
706-894-4204
 

Biography

James F. Mellichamp

James F. Mellichamp is the 13th President of Piedmont College. His career at Piedmont began in 1982 as a member of the music faculty, and he has held positions as Dean of the School of Arts & Sciences, Vice President for Academic Affairs, and Provost before being named President in 2012. 

In these roles, Mellichamp has overseen the academic program development of the college for the past 15 years, during which time new majors were added in almost every discipline from undergraduate through doctoral levels. 

With a performance career spanning more than 45 years, Dr. Mellichamp has made prominent appearances as an organist throughout the United States, Canada, Europe, and Asia. His concerts include solo recitals at such notable venues as the Washington Cathedral, Berlin Cathedral, the Cathedral of Notre Dame in Paris, and Westminster Abbey.
 
 
After study at Huntingdon College in Montgomery, Alabama, Dr. Mellichamp was an international organ scholarship recipient for two years at the Hochschule fuer Musik, Herford, Germany. He was awarded a Doctor of Music degree from the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University. A dedicated teacher, he holds the rank of Professor of Music and maintains an active studio of young organists.