Piedmont DebateUNG takes first Piedmont 'Mayflower Classic' debate title

Thirteen parliamentary debate teams from institutions in Georgia and Tennessee participated in Piedmont College's first intercollegiate Novice Parliamentary Debate tournament April 6.  Schools represented included Mercer University, Oglethorpe University, Middle Tennessee State University, and the University of North Georgia.

Max Mager and Robert Johnson from the University of North Georgia took first place in the tournament. Stephen Duke and Michaela Edwards from Middle Tennessee State University placed second. Augusta Gailey and Jacob Reed from Piedmont College advanced to the semi-finals and placed third in the tournament, while PC's Ethan McGowan and Rusty Crumley won three debate rounds and advanced to the quarter-finals. Piedmont College also won the second place team sweepstakes award.

In addition, the top ten debaters received speaker awards for their outstanding argumentation skills. Angie Keihauer from the University of North Georgia won the first best speaker award. Piedmont debaters Ethan McGowan, Rusty Crumley, and Augusta Gailey ranked fourth, fifth, and sixth best speakers of the tournament.

The Mayflower Classic tournament marked the 10th anniversary of Piedmont's debate team, established in 2003 under the direction of Dr. Janice Moss, professor of mass communications and debate coach. The tournament was designed to offer novice debaters an opportunity to compete and hone their critical-thinking skills in parliamentary debate.

The members of the Piedmont debate team include president Bethany Murley, Sarah Smagur, Katheryn Knarr, Augusta Gailey, Brandon Callahan, Ethan McGowan, Rusty Crumley, Sam Thomas, and Jacob Reed.