STAR Student

PAGE STAR state coordinator Lee Raudonis,
left, and Piedmont College President Ray Cleere,
right, presented the Region-Four STAR Student
Award to Xie Rachel Kulikoff of Athens at the
regional STAR Student banquet March 15.

Clarke Central STAR Student named region winner

Xie Rachel Kulikoff, a senior at Clarke Central High School, was named the Region-Four STAR Student at a banquet sponsored by Piedmont College March 15 at the Classic Center in Athens.

Kulikoff is the daughter of Lihong Xie and Allan Kulikoff. She is currently joint-enrolled in the University of Georgia Honors Program and plans on majoring in science or mathematics after graduation. Kulikoff is a National Merit Scholarship finalist and an Advanced Placement Scholar with Distinction. She participates in Environmental Club, Mu Alpha Theta, National Honor Society and swim team, among a variety of other activities. Kulikoff chose Buddy Sims, AP History teacher, as her STAR Teacher.

Now in its 53rd year, the Student Teacher Achievement Recognition (STAR) program is sponsored by the Professional Association of Georgia Educators (PAGE) Foundation, the Georgia Chamber of Commerce and the Georgia Department of Education. To be nominated for the STAR recognition, high school seniors must have the highest school SAT score and be in the top 10 percent of their class based on grade-point-average.

After winning the Clarke Central STAR title and now the Region Four award, Kulikoff will compete for the honor of being named the State STAR Student, which will be announced April 18 in Atlanta.


The regional STAR students and their STAR Teachers include, from Banks County: HaJun Jeong and Lesa Duncan; Barrow County: Casey Michael White and Marc Lewis; Commerce City: Ethan Bryant Thomas and Matthew Dahlke; Elbert County: (Tie) Raechel Anderson and teacher Rhonda Driver, and William Walker and teacher Charles Palmer; Franklin County: William Glenn Hollingsworth and Shari Spokes; Greene County: Garrison Weller Fox and Kirsten McFarland; Hart County, Paul BlantonRice and Ana Gordy; Jackson County: Nicholas Scott Buran and Heather Harris; Jefferson City: Julia Lee Ouellette and Janet Schwartz; MadisonCounty: Samuel Wallace Marcotte and Trenton Wilkes; Morgan County: Jordon Alexander Hartney and Pamela Hooten; Newton County: Patrick Henry Ford and Eric Adams; Oconee County: James Waugh and Andrew Simmons; Oglethorpe County: Charles Westbrook Meyen and Charlie Jones; Social Circle: Alix Marie Dickinson and David Smith; and from Walton County: Samantha Layne Stevens and teacher Jo Taylor.

Go Back